top of page
  • Writer's pictureShaina

How To Avoid Christian Burnout



How do I serve others and God without completely denying my own needs?


This was one of the biggest problems I faced as a new Christian. Christians are blessed to be called to serve God and others with their life. However, that attitude can be overwhelming without an idea of where to start.


It is an incredible thing to know and live into our calling as part of the body of Christ (1 Corinthians 12:12-31). Anyone who has been to Sunday school will be familiar with lessons on serving others as a way to express God’s love. We are reminded in the Gospel of Matthew that “‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’” (Matthew 25:40). This means that whenever we show love to others, we are doing the same to God because He is in each of us. That truth has always amazed me because I love that I can serve God so directly on earth. However, although loving each other well is the most important thing for us to do as Christians, as humans, loving everyone perfectly is impossible.


When I was a new Christian there were a few people in my life who I saw regularly who I found difficult to get along with. I listened to worship music before I would see these people, trying to find some kind of inspiration for situations I desperately wanted to avoid. I tried to be the best friend I could be to people I didn’t particularly like. I thought that this was what I needed to do to be “Christ-like.” I ended up being ingenuine, leading these people to believe I wanted to be their best friends, when in reality being with them was draining. I caused more hurt when I later pushed these people out of my life because I realized I couldn’t keep up these “friendships.” I felt like I had failed at loving and serving others and I know I’m not the only Christian who has felt this way.


I wish I could tell the younger version of myself that serving others is so much more than being selfless friend. I could have better served these people by setting boundaries and caring for them by being kind.


Since then, I have learned that I need to focus on my faith and my needs before I can truly serve others. Jesus was sinless and the perfect example of how to love and serve God and others. However, God knows we will never be perfect. Instead, becoming more like Jesus can mean we slowly come to desire God, rather than sin as we grow in our faith. We choose God over what may seem easier in this world when we are becoming more like Christ.

I like to think of the phrase “you can’t pour from an empty cup.” Finding balance between taking care of your own needs and the needs of others is crucial to being able to grow in your relationship with the Lord. It’s okay to get some space from a community or place makes it difficult for you to grow with God. You can serve God in many ways, not just in ways that require sacrifice and hardship.


The Lord will do great things with whatever you can offer. Our God understands the human condition. Loving people is hard work. Jesus died because He loved us so much! Love people in the best way that you can, but stay true to who you are throughout the process. Do not let loving others become a burden to you, for Jesus set us free from our burdens and the need to be sinless a long time ago.


Look for a post on how to best serve the Lord soon!


Peace and blessings,

Shaina




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page