top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlena

Why We Blog




Recently, I was telling my friend the story of how and why Shaina and I started the blog. As I was telling her, I realized that this is a story we have never shared with our readers. So, today I want to explain why we are doing this and how we felt called into it by the Lord. Maybe it will inspire you too!


When I was studying abroad in France and Shaina was doing an abroad program in Switzerland, we began to consider the idea of writing a blog. As Shaina talked about in Trusting God Abroad--studying abroad--while full of a lot of wonderful things, is also an experience that pulls you out of your comfort zone and closer to the Lord. It can be lonely and scary at times. As we were both living away from our home and friends, Shaina and I found comfort in listening to the “Girls Night” podcast by Stephanie May Wilson. In one of the episodes, Stephanie interviews two women who were best friends and started a business together. In it, their advice was to find something you were really passionate about and then to go and find someone else to be a partner in the project with you. As I listened to this episode, Shaina immediately came to mind.


I felt a tug in my heart telling me that I was on the brink of something.


I knew that God had done some meaningful things in my life and I would love to be able to share my journey with more people, but I didn’t know how.


Then, in the middle of our study abroad experiences we met in Rome for Easter at the Vatican (read about that here). Although Shaina and I have always loved discussing our faith and encouraging one another, it was here that we first prayed together and talked about using social media to share our beliefs. We had spent such a meaningful time together surrounded by other believers on Easter and we felt like we had so much to share! As we said our goodbyes at the airport in Rome, we talked about how we both felt called to be more vocal about our faith.


We agreed to continue to pray about it and think about what form that might take.


After my semester of classes in France, I was lucky enough to go on a trip to Spain with a good friend of mine. Shaina and I had met this sweet friend at a Christian club when we were freshmen in college.


It was there, on a beach in Spain that God answered our prayers.


“I feel like you and Shaina will start a blog.” My friend Alice said this completely out of the blue while we were eating breakfast one of our mornings together. I hadn’t said anything to her about how Shaina and I had been praying about our calling! Her words truly caught me off guard.


I knew it was God speaking to me, because it was so unbelievable.


Once I regained composure from my initial shock I laughed as I told my friend how we had been praying about this very moment. Once I called Shaina, she agreed and it was decided, this was something God wanted us to do. We have been so blessed to have a platform to share all that the Lord has done in our lives! Finding faith is a beautiful, but difficult journey. Shaina and I feel called to meet people where they are in their faith and help them grow closer to God.


We aren’t experts, but we have experienced the Lord’s love firsthand.


It seems fitting that I would write this post now as it has been about a year since we started writing and planning our first blog posts. Now, we have 44 posts, and we are so grateful for all of our readers and followers! As you continue supporting our blog, please know that we are so appreciative when you get in touch with us to tell us what our blog has done in your life. Please feel free to always email, dm, or facebook message us with questions or prayer requests too. This blog is for you and we are always keeping you in our prayers.


Thank you so much for being part of this community!


This summer we will be continuing the blog this summer by doing less full length posts like this one and more mini Instagram and Facebook posts. If you aren’t on Instagram and Facebook but subscribe to our email list, don’t worry! We will still be sending out emails on a weekly basis. Scroll down and sign up if you'd like to join the mailing list!


Lots of love,

Alena


2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page